Knowledge vs Experience

Angga Kho
1 min readOct 9, 2020

--

https://twitter.com/ProfFeynman/status/1299885590377193473?s=09

Recently, I stumbled upon this post on Twitter. Few days later, I learned first hand what it really meant.

I was trying to disable an antivirus program in my office laptop in order to install some programs for my online course. But only the IT people could do it. However, since it was Saturday, nobody responded to my request. I would hate it if I had to wait until Monday to resolve this issue.

After a few hours of Google searches, I still could not find a workaround. Then suddenly I remembered I hadn’t tried the most obvious solution: CTRL-ALT-DEL to call the task manager to kill the program. So I tried that, and it worked.

I felt silly because I should have thought this sooner. I know that a lot of problems in Windows can be resolved using the Task Manager to kill processes. This is knowledge. Connecting this fact with a new problem that I was facing, that is experience.

When encountering a problem, sometimes you may already know the solution for the problem, but it could take a while to connect the dots. This is why experience is valuable.

--

--

Angga Kho

I worked as a product manager for a tech company based in Jakarta. Opinions in this blog are my own.